Michigan Plug-In Solar Laws
In short: Michigan has no enacted plug-in solar exemption. HB 5764 remains in the House Energy Committee, so its proposed 1,200 W outlet route and post-installation notice are not current law. MPSC guidance still requires proper utility interconnection before parallel operation. Check the serving provider, electrical authority, product evidence and property permission before connecting a system.

Current status
Bill introduced
A proposal is pending and may change or fail. Follow today’s utility and electrical rules while tracking the official bill record.
Key facts
- Status: HB 5764 remains introduced in House Energy
- Introduced: March 19, 2026; latest recorded action: April 14, 2026
- Proposed limit: no more than 1,200 W maximum power output
- Proposed connection: a standard 120 V AC outlet
- Proposed utility step: notice no later than 30 days after installation
- Current route: MPSC-approved utility interconnection procedures before parallel operation
Check your location
Framework status and exact product eligibility are separate checks.
What this means today
The official HB 5764 record lists introduction and referral to House Energy on March 19, 2026. The bill was electronically reproduced on April 14, its latest recorded action. No committee report, House vote, Senate action or enactment appears in the record, so the proposed exemptions do not apply today.
The install-first process exists only in the pending bill. Under Michigan's current route, the Michigan Public Service Commission says a distributed-generation project must be properly interconnected before operation. Customers follow the procedure approved for the serving utility, and parallel operation may not begin until that utility gives approval.
Current Michigan process versus pending HB 5764
| Question | What applies today | What HB 5764 proposes |
|---|---|---|
| Legal status | Current MPSC, utility, electrical and local requirements apply to the exact grid-parallel configuration. | The introduced bill creates no exemption unless it passes, is enacted and takes effect. |
| Connection route | Use the MPSC-approved procedure for the serving utility before parallel operation. | A qualifying customer system would be exempt from Part 5 distributed-generation and interconnection requirements. |
| Output threshold | No statewide plug-in-specific 1,200 W exemption is in force. | No more than 1,200 W maximum power output; the bill does not label this panel DC, inverter AC, apparent power or meter export. |
| Utility timing | Application, review, agreement, inspection, meter and permission-to-operate steps depend on the current utility procedure. | No prior provider approval or related fee; customer notice would be due within 30 days after installation. |
| Product evidence | Current code, utility technical rules, certification records and manufacturer instructions control. | Most recent NEC plus certification by UL or an equivalent NRTL, with no numbered test standard named. |
| Outage behavior | The current interconnection procedure and exact equipment evidence determine grid-loss behavior. | The system must prevent the device from energizing the building electrical system during an outage. |
| Property and permits | Landlord, association, structural, electrical-permit and local decisions remain separate. | The bill includes a restoration duty for a meter or panel the customer does not own but grants no general right to use shared property. |
What HB 5764 says
HB 5764 would add section 115 to Michigan's Clean and Renewable Energy and Energy Waste Reduction Act. A qualifying customer-installed plug-in photovoltaic system would be exempt from the distributed-generation program and interconnection requirements under Part 5. The provider could not require advance approval, collect a related fee or demand controls beyond those integrated into the system. The customer would instead send a commission-prescribed notice to the serving provider no later than 30 days after installation. The MPSC would have 120 days after the section's effective date to create the form. The introduced definition also requires a movable photovoltaic device, no more than 1,200 W maximum power output, a standard 120 V AC outlet, primary use for onsite consumption, outage protection, the most recent NEC and UL or equivalent NRTL certification. The bill remains in committee, so none of these proposed exemptions is active.
Read the official bill record ↗
HB 5764 legislative timeline
| Date | Official event | What it means |
|---|---|---|
| March 19, 2026 | HB 5764 introduced | The House received the proposal. No plug-in-specific exemption took effect. |
| March 19, 2026 | Referred to House Energy | The bill entered committee and did not advance automatically to a floor vote. |
| April 14, 2026 | Introduced bill electronically reproduced | This is the latest action recorded for HB 5764 at review time, not committee passage. |
| No date established | No enactment or commencement | The record shows no effective date that a buyer can rely on. |
The 1,200 W figure is not classified
HB 5764 uses maximum power output of not more than 1,200 W. It does not say whether that means panel DC nameplate capacity, continuous inverter AC output, apparent power or export at the meter. Those measurements can differ. A panel bundle advertised as 1,200 W DC may use a smaller inverter, while several inverter channels can change the aggregate AC value.
The notice clause uses a second measurement: inverter capacity. The definition still uses the broader maximum-power wording. Record both fields rather than treating them as identical. An amendment, final act or MPSC implementation could define the threshold differently from the introduced text.
Michigan's current utility route still applies
MPSC guidance says customers must properly interconnect distributed generation before operation. For a project designed to run in parallel with the distribution system, the approved utility procedure covers the application, technical review, agreement and other required steps. The Michigan Interconnection and Distributed Generation Standards took effect on April 25, 2023. Each covered utility implements them through its own approved procedure.
The serving provider determines which procedure applies. MPSC interconnection jurisdiction covers rate-regulated utilities and electric cooperatives, while municipal electric utilities use their own processes. Consumers Energy, for example, directs solar and other generation customers to its Generator Interconnection program. Forms, fees and meter steps can differ at another provider.
A small inverter does not itself create a socket exemption under the current framework. Identify the serving provider first, describe the complete grid-parallel configuration and obtain its current written instructions. Do not use HB 5764's proposed post-installation notice as a substitute for today's approval route.
The certification clause does not name UL 3700
The certification requirement sits inside the bill's definition of a qualifying plug-in photovoltaic system. It calls for certification by Underwriters Laboratories or an equivalent nationally recognized testing laboratory, but names no numbered test standard. A mark on one inverter therefore does not show by itself that the panel, inverter, cable, plug, controls and instructions satisfy every condition. HB 5764 does not name UL 3700, UL 1741 or IEEE 1547.
OSHA recognizes an NRTL for specific products and test standards within a defined scope. Check the laboratory's public directory for the exact model, evaluated configuration, named standard and conditions of use. A generic UL or ETL badge is not enough to establish what was certified or whether the evidence matches the bill's system definition.
UL Solutions describes UL 3700 as the Outline of Investigation for Interactive Plug-In PV Equipment and Systems. Its safety work addresses risks such as conductor overload, GFCI compatibility, energized attachment plugs and user-accessible inverter output circuits. HB 5764 does not reference that outline. Do not rewrite the bill as a UL 3700 mandate unless later official text adds it.
- Match the exact model and every included component to the certification record.
- Record the named test standard and confirm it is within the laboratory's recognized scope.
- Separate inverter evidence from evidence for the complete plug-in system.
- Verify the permitted outlet, circuit, protection and outage behavior for the exact configuration.
The outage clause does not create backup power
HB 5764 requires a feature that prevents the device from energizing the building's electrical system during a power outage. This is a shutdown requirement. It does not authorize an ordinary grid-parallel plug-in system to run as home backup. A battery or transfer arrangement would be a different configuration with its own equipment, circuit and approval questions.
The introduced text does not specify a shutdown time, test method or named anti-islanding standard. Current utility technical requirements and the exact product record remain the controlling evidence today. If the bill advances, later amendments or commission implementation may add details that are absent from the introduced version.
Electrical permits and property permission need separate answers
Michigan LARA says electrical work that equips a building or alters, changes or adds conductors or equipment generally requires a permit from the appropriate enforcing agency. A plug-in configuration may involve less work than a new circuit. Replacing a receptacle, adding a circuit or changing premises wiring can still trigger the permit question. Ask the state or local electrical authority about the exact system instead of drawing a conclusion from the plug-in label.
HB 5764 includes a narrow property duty. If a customer installs on a meter or service panel the customer does not own, the customer must protect the structure's integrity and restore it when the system is removed. The bill does not expressly grant permission to attach panels to a rented balcony, railing, facade or common area. Obtain a written decision for the exact mount, support, cable route, outlet and removal plan.
The bill creates no express export credit
The proposed definition says the system is intended primarily to offset part of the customer's electricity consumption. It does not promise payment or bill credit for surplus energy. The 30-day notice would report inverter capacity, but the text does not specify how a meter must record reverse flow or how a provider must value it.
Under the current route, meter and tariff treatment remain provider-specific. Model savings from electricity used in the home while the system produces unless the serving provider documents a different credit in writing. An exemption from interconnection or distributed-generation program requirements would not automatically create compensation for export.
Your serving utility still matters
HB 5764 remains in House Energy and is not enacted. MPSC guidance currently requires proper interconnection before parallel operation through the procedure approved for the serving utility; municipal utilities use their own processes.
Pre-purchase checklist
- 1Open the official HB 5764 record and confirm whether House Energy has reported, amended or voted on the bill since this review.
- 2Identify whether the serving provider is rate-regulated, a cooperative or a municipal utility.
- 3Request the current application, agreement, inspection, meter and permission-to-operate steps for the exact grid-parallel configuration.
- 4Record panel DC nameplate watts, inverter continuous AC output, apparent power and expected export separately from the bill's 1,200 W wording.
- 5Find the exact model, named standard, evaluated configuration and conditions in an OSHA-recognized NRTL's public directory.
- 6Confirm outage behavior, plug, cable, receptacle, branch circuit, protective devices and manufacturer instructions.
- 7Ask the appropriate electrical authority whether the exact work requires a permit or inspection.
- 8Obtain written landlord, association or other property approval for the panel, mount, cable route and removal plan.
- 9Confirm how the meter and tariff record surplus; do not assume HB 5764 would create an export credit.
- 10Do not use the proposed 30-day notice route unless a final bill is enacted, effective and applicable to the system and provider.
Next steps
Primary sources
Frequently asked questions
Is plug-in solar legal in Michigan right now?
Michigan has no enacted statewide plug-in-specific exemption in the reviewed official record. HB 5764 remains in House Energy. That does not prove every configuration is prohibited, but the bill is not current permission. MPSC guidance says distributed generation must be properly interconnected before operation, using the procedure for the serving utility.
Did Michigan pass HB 5764?
No. HB 5764 was introduced and referred to House Energy on March 19, 2026. The latest recorded action is electronic reproduction on April 14. The reviewed record shows no committee report, House vote, Senate action, enactment or effective date. Its proposed exemptions and 30-day notice process are not active.
What is the proposed Michigan plug-in solar limit?
HB 5764 says maximum power output of no more than 1,200 W. It does not classify that number as panel DC, continuous inverter AC, apparent power or export capacity. The proposed notice separately asks for inverter capacity. Keep those measurements separate unless an amendment, final law or commission rule defines the threshold.
Would Michigan HB 5764 require UL 3700?
The introduced bill does not name UL 3700 or another numbered test standard. It requires certification by Underwriters Laboratories or an equivalent NRTL. Verify the exact model, standard, complete configuration and certification scope. A mark on one inverter does not establish that the full plug-in system satisfies every proposed condition.
Do I need utility approval for solar in Michigan today?
MPSC guidance says a customer must properly interconnect distributed generation before operation and may not begin parallel operation until the utility gives approval. Use the approved procedure for the serving provider. Municipal utilities are outside MPSC regulation and use their own processes, so identify the provider before relying on a form or timeline.
Would HB 5764 let plug-in solar work during an outage?
No. The introduced definition requires a feature that prevents the device from energizing the building electrical system during a power outage. That is a shutdown condition, not a backup-power right. A battery or transfer setup is a different configuration and would need its own product, circuit, utility and code review.
Would HB 5764 give renters permission to install panels?
No general tenant or association right appears in the introduced bill. It requires structural protection and restoration when the customer does not own the meter or service panel, but it does not expressly authorize use of a balcony, railing, facade or common area. Obtain written permission for the exact mount, cable route and removal plan.
